Skip to main content

DAISY Foundation Award

The DAISY Foundation was established in 2000 by the Barnes family in memory of their son, J. Patrick Barnes who died from complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP) at the age of 33. It is dedicated to funding research to help fight diseases of the immune system and supporting ITP patients and their families. Having been touched by the remarkable care, Clinical skills, and compassion demonstrated by nurses during Patrick's illness, the Barnes family made it their mission to recognize exceptional nurses around the country.

What is the Daisy award?

  • This international program includes more than 1,000 hospitals across the globe.
  • It is given quarterly to an outstanding nurse from any of the different nursing regions in both the inpatient and outpatient areas.
  • The award is presented in the award recipient's unit.
  • All recipients throughout the year will be recognized during Nurse Week.
  • Recipient will receive: framed certificate, DAISY Award signature lapel pin, hand-carved stone sculpture entitled A Healer's Touch, and a copy of the nomination letter.
  • The department of the recipient will receive Cinnabon's cinnamon rolls, which were Patrick's favorite during his illness.

How to nominate an extraordinary nurse:

  • Patients, visitors, employees, or physicians may nominate a deserving nurse.
  • Fill out the online nomination form.
    • Criteria/attributes for nominations specific examples of a clinical situation where this this nurse contributed to our Mission and Vision by providing a compassionate patient care experience.
      • Mission
        To care, to educate, to discover
      • Vision
        Healing humanity through science and compassion, one patient at a time
      • SHC – VC Values
        Honesty: Truthful and open exchange
        Excellence: Doing our best at all times
        Advocacy: Acting in the best interest of the patient
        Respect: Consideration and appreciation of others
        Teamwork: Working together in the spirit of collaboration
        Compassion: Kindness and caring for everyone
  • Nomination is all year long. Selection process takes place quarterly during the Nursing Professional Growth and Development council meeting. Recipient will be notified by the department's manager.

What is the selection process for the award?

  • Only nominations with patient a story will go through the final selection.
  • The selection process is blind. Each final nomination letter is coded for anonymity to prevent bias from the selection committee members.
  • Members of the Daisy Award Selection Committee will read all the final nomination letters and grade them based on the presence of the SHC Nursing Values and quality of the story.
  • A scoring grid is used to grade the nomination letters.
  • Nominees with the highest score are selected as award recipients.